elionwyr: (watch horror movies)
[personal profile] elionwyr
The year is 2004.
Janet Jackson and Justin Timberlake are performing at the Super Bowl and a choreographed move wherein he is to reach over and pull on part of her costume, revealing a red lacy bra, goes awry and her right breast is exposed.

Much much MUCH mayhem ensues. That moment is plastered all over the media; apologies are made; law suits are threatened; in short, America loses its damn mind over a few seconds of seeing a breast on prime time non-cable television.

Two quotes worth noting:

Ian Wade of BBC commented "Stupid Americans decide to sue everyone involved for the distress caused and Janet Jackson is suddenly the most despised woman on Earth."
- BBC Review

... Timberlake also told MTV that he "probably got 10 percent of the blame", later explaining that "America's harsher on women" and "unfairly harsh on ethnic people", referring to the backlash suffered by him and Jackson.
- MTV News

Jump forward to last night.

A male contestant on "The X-Factor" decides that, for his audition on this talent show, he is going to sing a self-composed song and, during the chorus, drop his pants and expose himself to the judges and the audience. He does so rather flagrantly, including giving everyone a good side view of his crotch.

In theory, the performance may be seen here - no actual genitalia is visible.

Now, in the aftermath of what became known as "Nipplegate," there was apparently a longer time-delay insisted upon by the FCC for live broadcasts. I'm not clear on how much of that performance made it to the air. But what I find appalling is this:

Janet's breast was exposed for roughly 4 seconds and was partially covered by jewelry.
Geo Godley's penis was exposed for..I'm going to guestimate that it's about a minute total, because he is not removed from stage. He is allowed to get through the chorus of his song, pull up his pants, sing the second verse, and then drop his pants again.

At this point, Paula Abdul gets up and leaves. Although all four judges react negatively, she is the only one to leave. (Some audience members leave as well prior to Paula's departure.) No one removes the man from stage. It is only when Paula leaves that Geo says, "I think I'm in trouble," and the performance ends.

What the frig?

The judges read him the riot act. He offers to sing another song. (One only wonders what one of his proffered slower songs might have inspired act-wise..) He never seems to understand that what he did was wrong.

And a scan of the news media today shows that the big story is that Paula left the studio and was sick.

...?

Let's recap.

A woman has her breast exposed on TV for 4 seconds and is reviled by a nation.

A man exposes himself on TV twice for a fairly long period of time and..the woman that reacts is the one that's criticized.

What the HELL is wrong with people?

Date: 2011-09-22 03:15 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] mankycat.livejournal.com
Very good entry. You make a valid point.

Date: 2011-09-22 03:23 pm (UTC)
ext_4696: (Default)
From: [identity profile] elionwyr.livejournal.com
I am hoping to be proven wrong with a link to some article I haven't seen yet..

Date: 2011-09-22 03:40 pm (UTC)
ext_4831: My Headshot (Adult content)
From: [identity profile] hughcasey.livejournal.com
Great points, all. Frankly, I don't blame Abdul for being ill... HE was the one acting inappropriately!

And considering that, in shots of the audience aired previously, it showed that there were MINORS in the house, why this man wasn't hauled off in handcuffs is beyond me.

Date: 2011-09-22 03:43 pm (UTC)
ext_4696: (Default)
From: [identity profile] elionwyr.livejournal.com
And ya know what's awesome? I just received this in my Inbox from Beliefnet.com - a website that generally offers positive self-growth advice and inspiring messages:

http://blog.beliefnet.com/gospelsoundcheck/2011/09/the-x-factor-premieres-and-im-totally-sucked-in.html

In particular:
"
The next hour of the show moved to Seattle, where the auditions opened with a 43-year-old blogger named Geo Godly who has the honor of being the first contestant to make Paula actually throw up. Godly sang some ridiculous song he wrote and dropped his pants midway through the tune. It was so horrifying Paula actually left the judges table and went into the bathroom and barfed.

What a freaking great show!"

I really don't get people.

Date: 2011-09-22 04:04 pm (UTC)
ext_4831: My Headshot (brainbleach)
From: [identity profile] hughcasey.livejournal.com
Oh, it DID make for some great television! Certainly not NOBLE, UPLIFTING television, but great TV nonetheless.

I have to admit, it was like watching a train wreck... horrifying, but I. Just. Couldn't. Look. AWAY! :-(

Date: 2011-09-22 04:07 pm (UTC)
ext_4696: (Default)
From: [identity profile] elionwyr.livejournal.com
My point is this:
The article at that link is written by someone who is writing for a purportedly spiritually uplifting website, and the author critizes "American Idol" for being trashy and "X Factor" for being a better show.

I don't know how "American Idol" would handle this sort of thing, but "trashy" is a good start for a description of this particular airing of "X Factor."

Date: 2011-09-22 06:37 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] spoothbrush.livejournal.com
Not to mention that it was a black woman in the first case and a white man in the second one.

Stop the world. I want to get off.

Date: 2011-09-22 06:47 pm (UTC)
ext_4696: (Default)
From: [identity profile] elionwyr.livejournal.com
I'm right there with ya today.

And again Timberlake wins points with me for addressing the issue of racial and gender privilege.

Date: 2011-09-22 07:17 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] blkstarsapphire.livejournal.com
I think they have it backwards. It should be:
accidental exposure of breast = oops, try to avoid it happening again
dropping pants on purpose = scorn of the entire country forever

Date: 2011-09-22 07:25 pm (UTC)
ext_4696: (Default)
From: [identity profile] elionwyr.livejournal.com
I am complete agreement. Which I'm sure surprises you not at all.

Date: 2011-09-22 08:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] gunslnger.livejournal.com
Not that I care about either one, but no one wants to see men's junk, and everyone wants to see women's breasts. That's where the differences start from. Penii are funny, breasts are erotic.

February 2020

S M T W T F S
      1
2345 678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 11:54 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios